Microfiber, Upholstery

How I saved my dining room furniture…

I thought it would be nice to make some Christmas cookies with my 2 year old. I was happy to see her dig right in and get her hands dirty (literally)! What I didn’t foresee is the ultimate abuse my dining room upholstery would take from this creative project. I remember a friend telling me at our house-warming party that I would regret getting fabric seats for my dining room furniture. I shrugged it off with a chuckle, but I did wonder how I would manage to make this furniture last. Afterall, I also had a white couch from Pottery Barn to worry about ($3500 with the 25% off Sale)!

Btw, the cookies we made were called Chocolate Crinkles and they WERE delicious – even worth the mess that they caused!

Anyway, here’s the Before/After of our dining room bench where my daughter was sitting:


You can almost see the hand prints that were made with oil, can’t you??! Can you feel my horror?!

I immediately took a photo because I knew that if Norwex worked in THIS, it would be an amazing demonstration of the products. First, I tried wiping the seats down with a damp EnviroCloth. Honestly, water alone didn’t cut it. My next step was to try the Ultra Power Plus (UPP) Laundry Detergent. It comes in a powder form, and works as an EXCELLENT stain remover when diluted in water. I generally dilute about 1 tsp in a 20 oz spray bottle of water. This stuff is super versatile and seems to last forever. I only use 1 tsp of UPP for a load of laundry!

ultra-power-plus-laundry-detergent

I sprayed the bench down with diluted UPP and let it sit about 10 mins. Then I got my damp EnviroCloth and started rubbing. To my amazement, I literally saw the grease lifting out. As you can see, when all was said and done, the bench looked almost better than new! Now, part of my weekly routine is to spray down the upholstery and wipe them down to give them a weekly facelift.

If you want to know more or have any questions, please comment below or contact me and I’ll be happy to help you.

Leave a Reply

